Who We Are

Riverside County Watershed Protection is a partnership program between Riverside County, the Flood Control & Water Conservation District, Coachella Valley Water District and 27 cities that manage watershed programs which protect, preserve and enhance the quality of the water and the natural environment of our watersheds.

What We Do

The partnership uses a combination of public education, best management practices, evaluation and water quality monitoring to eliminate stormwater pollution in our waterways and comply with all federal, state and local regulations. Our aim is to empower residents with information about pollution prevention and implement tactics that keep our watersheds healthy.

Why We Do It

The Federal Clean Water Act requires that large urbanised areas have a National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit to prevent harmful pollutants from being dumped or washed by stormwater runoff into the Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s) and then discharged into local water bodies.

The State Water Board and Regional Water Quality Control Boards that oversee your jurisdiction determine your specific NPDES permit. Riverside County Watershed Protection includes three different water quality control boards that govern the Santa Ana, Santa Margarita and Whitewater watersheds. These boards are responsible for managing the County’s MS4 NPDES permit and ensuring compliance.

This is inserted at the bottom